Dell Children's Foundation

About Us

Bringing help, hope, and healing to our children.

Our Purpose

Dell Children’s Foundation works with our generous philanthropic community and their passion to invest in the future of our children’s health in Central Texas through Dell Children’s Medical Center.

Dell Children’s relies on support from the community to ensure our doors stay open and that no child is ever turned away regardless of their family’s ability to pay. Roughly 70% of Dell Children’s patients are under-insured or uninsured, and we could not provide the same level of world class care to every child without philanthropic support.

Dell Children’s Foundation is part of the Seton Foundations who raise the funds and awareness necessary to operate and advance the Ascension Seton network of hospitals. Learn more at supportseton.org.

Our Impact

  • More than $220M raised since 1996.
  • In the last decade, there have been 1,529,099 patient visits at Dell Children’s Medical Center.
  • Since opening in 2007, 90,512 surgeries have been performed and there have been 853,749 emergency room visits.
  • In its first year, the Grace Grego Maxwell Mental Health Unit at Dell Children’s served more than 10,000 young people and their families.

Our History

Established in 1987, the Dell Children’s Medical Center (DCMC) Foundation began as the Children’s Hospital Foundation supporting the Children’s Hospital of Austin, a department of Brackenridge. At that time, Brackenridge Hospital was owned and managed by the City of Austin, but in order to improve the level of care provided, the City of Austin asked Seton to take over management. As soon as Seton began managing Brackenridge, the Seton Foundations began raising funds to support the hospital. 

Read More

Dell Children’s Foundation Board of Trustees

Current Members

Valerie Parker,  Board Chair
Philanthropist

Edward Furst, Vice Chair
Capitol Anesthesiology Association

Kyle Gauthreaux, Treasurer
UBS

Nicole Covert, Secretary
Philanthropist

Jason Barany
Aero Capital Solutions

Sabrina Brown
Consultant & Lobbyist

Blake Chandlee
TikTok

Bob Cole
Austin Radio Network

Jamie Dell
Philanthropist

Matt Flake
Q2 Software

Nilda Garcia, M.D.
Austin Pediatric Surgery

Lori Johnson
Philanthropist

Matt Johnson
Silicon Labs

Tom Kite, Jr.
PGA Golfer

Jim Kozlowski
TGF Management

Daniel Kozmetsky
RGK Ranch

Marcella Maxwell
Dell Children’s | Dell Medical School

Pat Robertson
UBS Financial Services

Joe Price
Entrepreneur

Joe Ross
CSID

Alex Smith
Brown Advisory

Todd Wallace
JLL

Leslie Ward
AT&T Texas

Shelby Wanstrath
Teachers Retirement System of Texas

Travis West
Fringe Benefit Group

Evelyn Wiedeman
Philanthropist

Life Trustees

Luci Baines Johnson

Lori Barr, M.D.

Tim Crowley

Susan Dell

Mary Nell Frucella

Rudy Garza

Morris Gottesman

Marci Henna

Betty Himmelblau

Neal T. (Buddy) Jones

Cindy Kozmetsky

Jan Lindelow

T. Nyle Maxwell, Jr.

Barbara Paul

Juan Portillo

Karen Teel, M.D.

Dell Children’s Foundation Team

Susan Hewlitt
Executive Director
SChewlitt@ascension.org

Savannah Bratcher
Associate Development Coordinator
savannah.bratcher@ascension.org

Suellen Brown
Associate Director of Development
SABrown@ascension.org

Megan Campuzano
Senior Director of Annual Giving
mjcampuzano@ascension.org

Jenn Davis
Director of Development
Jenn.Davis@ascension.org

Mary Elizabeth Fleming
Development Coordinator – Dell Children’s Ball
mary.fleming@ascension.org

Meredith Mallory
Director of Development
meredith.mallory@ascension.org

Dellene Hornsby
Office Manager
Dhornsby@ascension.org

Kara Simmang
Development Coordinator
Kara.Simmang@ascension.org

Armando Zambrano
Senior Director of Events
azambrano@ascension.org